Howdy,

subscribe | @tofurious

Wednesday – June 3rd, 2009

What a day so far. I cannot even begin to explain.

Anyway, just wanted to share with everyone the spectacular view from our suite at Ritz carlton (Laguna Niguel).

The Ritz Carlton Laguna Niguel
One Ritz-Carlton Drive
Dana Point, CA 92629
(949) 240-2000

ritz carlton

ritz carlton

Thursday – June 4th, 2009

Butterflies fluttering, cold sweat, nervous shivers, you name it, I got it. The only thing that got me through the private workshop were the smiles from familiar faces – thank you for your support. Prior to everyone’s arrival, I recited my lecture notes over and over in my head. Upon opening my mouth, my scripted speech turned into a series of barely cohesive words meshed into a ball of thoughts.

Why the anxiety?

  1. The attendees included some of the world’s top weddings photographers
  2. Even without the titles, I still had an insurmountable adulation for them
  3. I copied one of the photographer’s pricing sheet when I first immersed myself into this industry

I do not remember the exact words, but it went something like this:

Me: Sara [France], I did not mean to copy your pricing sheet, but it looked so pretty.

Sara: It’s okay, when I was starting out, I copied (name).

A wave of relief swelled inside of me as I am reminded by @bullysaurus’s words that “they are regular people too, so don’t worry so much.” It’s funny because this same scenario happened in San Francisco’s private workshop.

Attendees:

Special thanks to: Anton Lorimer!

Some cool OC peeps:

I am particularly proud of Victor Sizemore being able to implement the strategies taught in the workshop virtually immediately! At first, I thought Victor was chatting or writing an email instead of listening. He later shared with me what he was up to.

While you were talking, I Google’d one of my previous wedding shoots and it was on page 3 of search results. [not so good] While listening to you, I made a number of changes to that blog post. Upon return from giving my testimonial to Anton, I Google’d the same thing and I am #1. [WOW]

It made me proud to see that I was able to deliver complex concepts over effectively.

ritz carlton

Looking forward to the next one,

Lawrence

P.S. I am entertaining the idea of hosting my first public workshop on a yacht (in Orange County). Special perks for coming to this first one include

  • wine / champagne
  • get to be in a high production music video (still planning)
  • boat ride – yay!

Add yourself to the mailing list if you want more information in the coming months – subscribe