Recently, there was a lot of talk about WordPress, SEO and Google not using meta keywords. That’s all fine and dandy, but I want to add my two cents into this mix.

I am not saying that I am a super expert in this area, but I have been pretty successful with targeted search results, wedding inquiries and web traffic. This article will expound lightly on these topics:

  1. Why Google loves WordPress
  2. Google does not use meta keywords, but others might

Google Loves WordPress

I have been a long time supporter of WordPress and trying to sing their good graces everywhere I go. WordPress is (in my opinion) the most powerful web / blogging platform. Don’t take my word for it, Matt Cutts (head of WebSpam for Google since 2000) even says it in his presentation (slide 12).

WordPress takes care of 80-90% of (the mechanics of)
Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

matt cutts

Google Does Not Use Meta Keywords

Yes – you heard right! Google Webmaster Central Blog announced that Google does not use meta keywords in their indexing (elaborated by Matt Cutts).

Now, you should know by now – I LOVE Google. I trust Google for my entire business – planning, discussion groups, mobile apps, everything is Google!

However, keep in mind that Google is only 65% of the search engine user market (pre-Bing) as of April 2009. See for yourself.

What about the other 35% of the market that includes Yahoo, MSN, Bing, and AOL, just to name a few. What about them? Google might not use meta keywords, but these guys might. Therefore, why would you potentially cut yourself off from 35% of the market by not using meta keywords when it’s already there anyway? I’m just sayin’…why not? It’s more business! I don’t know about you, but I like more businessπŸ˜€

search-stats

I hope this article demystifies my point of view on which blogging platform to use and the importance of meta keywords. I welcome feedback on this matter!

Cheers,

Lawrence Chan

P.S. Of all Mexican foods, I like tamales the most. Mmmmm…