After UCLA, I went to Loyola Marymount University and then Chapman University — to get my teaching credential. While at Chapman, a big emphasis was placed on the success of a student’s learning. The following are steps to test the effectiveness of your approach.

  1. (S)he doesn’t understand what I’m saying.
  2. I don’t understand what (s)he’s saying.
  3. I’m not being clear.

Most of the time, it’s #3 – I’m not being clear.

It is not because the student does not understand what I am trying to teach; it is because I am not being clear when teaching it.

How does this apply to us?

When trying to market an idea or business, make sure that your audience has the fundamental tools to comprehend what you are saying. This procedure is called “scaffolding.”

Scaffolding is when you build a strong basis and continue stacking it with more knowledge. Ultimately, by arming your users with the proper information, you can market concepts clearly and effectively.

Conclusion

The next time someone does not understand something or your campaign, remember that maybe it’s you.

I would really love to hear your thoughts on this.

Sincerely,

Lawrence Chan

