My interest for photography really sparked when I shot for UCLA’s Daily Bruin newspaper in 2005. I was a super bookworm, so all I did was study and manage my cyber cafe business in Atlantic City, NJ. Wanting to be more active because college was supposed to be the most “cherished years” in my life, I gave sports a try.

To this day, I am neither a spectator nor participant in sports. However, being on the court side for basketball games or shooting the Mercedes Cup with Andy Roddick allowed me to look at sports through a different lens (literally).

andy roddick

While I used all zoom lenses back then, I now use all (at least most of the time) prime lenses. An extra stop matters a lot in weddings due to low lighting situations and bokeh (aesthetic blur) for isolation of subjects. Someone asked me what bags and equipment I used, so here it is!

Bodies

Canon EOS 1D Mark IV SLR Digital Camera – truly the flagship with up to ISO 102,400 and 45 focus points (39 cross points) at 10fps // 1080p video

1dmiv

Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital Camera – it has beautiful color and is full frame // 1080p video

5dmii

Lenses

Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM Autofocus Lens – approximately 35mm on 1.3x frame

24mm

Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM Autofocus Lens – quite possibly my favorite lens on the 1D Mark IV

50mm

Canon Telephoto EF 135mm f/2.0L USM Autofocus Lens – great for ceremony shots and portraits because of the low aperture. Compared to the 70-200 f/2.8, that extra f/0.8 sometimes matters. Just be sure to shoot at a higher shutter speed because this lens is very sensitive.

135mm

Canon Zoom Telephoto EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM Autofocus Lens – while it produces beautiful shots, I keep this in my bag and only use during emergencies; my preference is the Canon 135mm f/2.0L – NOTE: I don’t always bring this one.

70-200mm

Accessories

While I own and use Shootsac, the Tamrac Pro System 8 is what I use most often because I can just pop that bag on any carry-on suitcase and I am off!

tamrac

Canon Speedlite 580EX II – (2x) – super quick recycle time and full manual.

580exii

PocketWizard Plus II Transceiver/Relay Radio Slave – (3x) combined transmitter or receiver.

pocket-wizard

Impact Mini Phono Plug to Female Hot Shoe Cord for Pocket Wizard (12″) – I prefer a female shoe over the plug-in one.

mini-phono-pocket-wizard

Photoflex LiteDome XTC Extra Small Softbox Kit for Shoe Mount Flashes – if I don’t have my AlienBees, then this will be my next choice (especially for small shoots); it works with my Canon Speedlite 580EX II.

photoflex

SanDisk 16GB Extreme CompactFlash Memory Card – (4x) UDMA fast speeds for transfer and video recording // I carry these with my loose 8gb / 4gb cards.

sandisk-16gb

A substitute for L-lenses are the regular USMs, which are really good too. I started with those before I upgraded.

Cheers,

Lawrence Chan

P.S. Buy insurance, which reminds me I need to do the same. Plus, this is the lineup I use. If you’re starting out, rent and test first. Not everyone fancies primes.

P.P.S. Live in Denver? Meet me next week on May 13th for a SmugMug meet.