We zipped through groves of trees. I was staring out of the window for the slight chance that I might see a Quileute wolf, but found only deer. When Mike’s van finally arrived at Shawnigan Lake School where Image Explorations (IE) was held, my eyes turned from hazy to giant globes. This boarding school looked like a miniature Hogwarts!

shawnigan lake school

Rockie Lee was the one who was so gracious to invite me as the bonus program speaker that opened up IE. I never found myself to be a motivational speaker.

lawrence chan speaking at image explorations

Minutes before my talk, Rockie gave me a quick tour of the facilities and I was so impressed with the equipment and preparation that I wanted to sign up as a student. Seriously something to consider for those who want a week of intense learning.

In retrospect, I feel a little embarrassed for gushing how much I love Vancouver, but it’s true – I do. Especially since I speak English, Cantonese (the preferred Chinese dialect) and always wanted to learn French, Vancouver seemed to be a world designed just for me!!

I had such a blast with everyone at IE even though it was only for two hours. I used a completely new presentation and they welcomed it with the warmest hospitality. Thank you!

I will be back,

Lawrence Chan

P.S. I’m currently at a Starbucks on Robson Street eating a spicy California roll from my favorite Pocky market across the street and being a voyeur…love it here.

P.P.S. In one hour I’ll be boarding my cruise to Alaska to see the glaciers before they melt. If it wasn’t for that, I’d be at IE at the bar or swimming in one of their lakes.