Unlike Tim Ferriss, some of us do not work 4 hours a week. For small business owners, it’s not even 40 hours a week. It’s roughly…400 hours a week.

Sometimes, we’re so inundated with our work that our businesses might look like this. Does yours?

ferris buellers day off

If we were to look at our business (or life) so closely with a magnified glass, this is all that we’ll see – blurry nothingness. And this is very likely to happen after a full year of blood, sweat, more blood and more sweat.

As a result…

  1. we can’t make sound decisions
  2. we are easily frustrated with the business direction
  3. we wish that we could take a vacation from our business
  4. we want to go back to 9-5 jobs

Two Solutions to Business Suffocation

1. STOP

…what you’re doing. Literally stop [even thinking about your business]. Step away.

I had to do this recently. I went to Alaska on a cruise for a week where there was nearly zero communication. And when you get back, you will realize that your business is still intact. The world hasn’t blown up.

I had a chance to breathe and realize a clear direction. I was able to see the bigger picture…in all its glory…and in full clarity.

ferris buellers day off
(image is A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte by Seurat – arrow points at zoomed area in first image)

2. REWARD

What is the point of working so hard, making money, and not spending it? …on things that make us happy. I Facebook‘ed this a couple of days ago.

espresso

There are a few things that make me happy. And I finally purchased a machine that would yield me happiness at whim. It was a present to myself.

How will you treat yourself this year?

Those who love their jobs do the best work. If you’re burnt out and potentially hate your job, your work will reflect it. So, to avoid capsizing your own business in this ocean of stress…

  1. turn off your computer, phone and work-brain
  2. disconnect yourself from everything
  3. devote time to yourself
  4. reduce the noise
  5. treat yourself to something nice… just because …you deserve it

Start anew. Rejuvenated. Fresh. Ready for 2011.

If you want…

  1. Share this with a friend if you think it’ll help him or her via email or Tweet and Facebook buttons below.
  2. Comment how you will treat yourself.

Cheers to 2011,

Lawrence Chan

P.S. Did you see the episode where Stewie on Family Guy looked at A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte? That’s where I got the idea.

P.P.S. This year, I also plan to disconnect by snowboarding. I haven’t gone for about 4 years, so I’m probably going to eat…a lot of snow.

P.P.P.S. Super tiny spoiler alert for Mini Shopaholic

mini shopaholic

Luke Brandon (husband and super workaholic) –

Losing all my technology has been weirdly liberating. I’ve been forty-eight hours now without email or Internet or even a proper phone. And you know what? I’ve survived.