Youth is supposed to be ethereal, yet I felt anchored. I desperately needed a change in the wind. Rather, my sails were down…and I just needed wind.

LIFE IS TOO SHORT

…to be doing the same thing over and over – 40 hours a week for 40 years.

In 2009, I decided to leave the comfort of home and an existing business (which at the time was doing really well). It didn’t matter. Money didn’t matter. I was unhappy.

All I knew was that I was seething with ideas. And the Old World Chinese culture and philosophies were holding me back. For example, I was once reprimanded for purchasing a laptop [for work and school] despite just having a windfall of money from a turnkey business I sold. Blind conservation was rule one.

Since I left everything behind and didn’t have much money, I started with a blog. I used it as an outlet for my thoughts. And even if no one read it, that was fine by me. Today, this blog is called, “Tofurious,” and it gives me happiness.

venice
I once ran my business in Venice (and from 16 other countries)

Starting a business is a [calculated] risk. Last time I checked, risk is running the chance for failure.

Got a day job? Don’t quit…yet.

Many of you still might have a day job. To tack on a business as well is commendable. However, I can see how it can cause unhappiness. Before you do anything, ask yourself the following questions.

  • What is the worst possible outcome if you took a year off and tried a new business?
  • If you failed, can you recover yourself? Buffer helps.
  • What is the best possible outcome if you succeeded?
  • What is stopping you?

corfu sign

If what you’re doing now is making you unhappy and what you want to attempt isn’t going to kill you, why not?

Failure

Failure, to me, is not trying. Failure, to me, is the idea that unhappiness should be a permanent part of life.

In business, failure isn’t fatal; not being bold, loud and unique is.

Keep in mind that the moment that you choose to be different, you will have haters. Trying to please everyone is also failure.

munich hofbrauhau
Whateva, I do what I want -Eric Cartman from South Park

What to do next…

  1. Determine what makes you unhappy and try to trim it. It’s cancer. If you’re comfortable, comment one thing that you want to change in your life.
  2. If you found this useful, share with a friend via Retweet and Facebook buttons below.

All in all, even if you did fail, who cares. Reflect and move on.

Your beer loving blogger,

Lawrence Chan

P.S. I dedicate this blog post for all who have day jobs and still are as energetic as ever! This includes my friend, Rockie Lee. I attribute his energy to “bubble tea.”

P.P.S. Imagine doing something you hate for your entire life. Frankly, I don’t have that patience.