In 2009, I was at Skip’s Summer School helping a friend, Candice Cunningham, setup a booth. When everything was completed, I decided to sit in on the lectures.

To my surprise, a photographer I revered was an arm’s length away. Naturally, I tapped him on the shoulder. “Are you Kenny Kim?”

After introductions, he invited me to have Starbucks on him. Caramel Frappuccino on a hot summer day? More reason to play hooky.

Fast forward a couple of years and lots of sushi lunches, Kenny Kim publishes two books.

When he told me about his second book, I almost couldn’t believe it. Please understand that his first book was already amazing, so outdoing himself was not an easy feat. And as consistent as his amicable character, he did it again.

New Book
http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?lt1=_blank&bc1=FFFFFF&IS2=1&npa=1&bg1=FFFFFF&fc1=000000&lc1=0000FF&t=tofurious-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&m=amazon&f=ifr&ref=qf_sp_asin_til&asins=1118014111
Old Book
http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=tofurious-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=0470570938&ref=qf_sp_asin_til&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=FFFFFF&bg1=FFFFFF&npa=1&f=ifr

 

Digital Wedding Photography | Photo Workshop

While his first book emphasized poses and how a wedding day unfolds, his second book Digital Wedding Photography | Photo Workshop expounds on equipment used, lighting, composition, delivery of goods and etc.

The following is an image from the book coupled with a caption denoting external lighting settings, exposure time, lens used and so forth.

I enjoyed reading his perspective behind every photo illustrated in the book. As photographers, we all think different things during a shoot – lighting, backgrounds, distractions…

As for me, I think about what flavor that evening’s cake will be. Click. Click. Move it, move it, let’s hurry to cake!

All in all, if I had to rate it on a standard 5-star system, I’d give it a 6.

Good job, Kenny!

Lawrence Chan

P.S. My favorite cake is chocolate.

P.P.S. Another book I’m reading is Water For Elephants….so good.

P.P.P.S. New article just posted – 3 Reasons Why Selling is is Making More!