One of my favorite television shows is Iron Chef with Alton Brown. It’s a food competition between Iron Chefs (resident chefs) and challenger chefs over a themed secret ingredient, which is revealed in the beginning.

iron chef

Judges determine the winner by scoring entrees on taste, plating (design and looks of presentation) and originality. Looks (plating) is worth 25%.

We live in a visual world. Before food even hits our palette, we taste it with our eyes. This is why visual real estate is so important.

dinner with piers morgan

Facebook Page Photo Banner

Facebook’s Pages allow you to have a cool photo strip across your wall. It’s one of the first things you will see when landing there. It looks almost like a billboard.

facebook photo strip

Normally, it contains random cropped images from your most recent upload. No problem. Just follow these steps.

Create Images

Facebook crops images. And it’s quite annoying. But, I’ve painstakingly made guide lines in Photoshop where the images are cropped, so that you will have the perfect photo strip.

Plus, I don’t want to upload small thumbnails like 97×68 pixels. If people click on the thumbnails, I want nice big pictures!

cairns

You can download my templates here. I’ve made rounded corners and square corners for your choosing.

Upload Images

Create a new photo gallery and call it whatever you want. I named mine “Photo Strip.” Upload the images and the most recent will appear in your photo strip.

You do not have control over the ordering of the images, so don’t try to make it a consistent image unless they can be linked like Lysol. No matter how you order the thumbnails, they’re linked by the blue ribbon.

facebook lysol

And if you ever upload new images or are tagged in some, you could always hide photos by rolling over the image and hitting the “x.” You can always undo this action in your Admin dashboard.

facebook hide photos

My suggestion is to upload one image from each of your top five portfolio shoots. Each image will have a call to action.

Call to Action

Once users click on an image, add some blurb about the photo shoot and a link to an expanded blog post. Remember to add “http://” in front of your blog post link, so that it’s clickable. For example –

June 30, 2011 – Bulldog Fashionista
I love it when pets are personified with clothing. Recently, I photographed the most…

[link to bulldog photo shoot blog post]

What to do next…

Let’s recap the steps.

  1. Determine your 5 portfolio shoots.
  2. Use the templates here and create giant thumbnails.
  3. Upload your images to your Facebook Page.
  4. Add various call to action links.
  5. Post your Page link on my Facebook Wall, so that others could admire and get inspiration.
  6. Share this blog post with others with Twitter, Facebook and +1 buttons below.

Thanks and have a nice day,

Lawrence Chan

P.S. I recently ran out of straws for my iced coffees, so I used a Red Vine. Awesome!

red vine straw

P.P.S. I got a nice email from Eric Fung about my psychology to pricing e-book that I wanted to shareπŸ™‚

book testimonial

P.P.P.S. Are you celebrating July 4th? If so, how?