Last week, Julie and I drove to San Francisco to play with some friends. The spontaneous idea spawned from her craving crab. “Happy wife, happy life,” right?

golden gate bridge

Anyway, on our way back, we passed by a number of rest stops. To my dissatisfaction, many signs had burned out lights. Sure, I sometimes have a burned out light bulb at home too, but these are businesses.

burned out signs

This reminded me of Disneyland. From my years of going to the theme park, not once have I caught them with a burned out light bulb. I don’t know how true it is, but I understand that they change the light bulbs way before their expiration dates.

disneyland electrical parade
Disneyland Electrical Parade courtesy of Disneyland

This post isn’t really about preemptively changing light bulbs. It’s about …

Adaptation

It is not the strongest of the species that survives, nor the most intelligent that survives. It is the one that is the most adaptable to change.
— Charles Darwin

The lesson we can learn from Disneyland is simple. Don’t wait until the last minute to adapt [or change light bulbs].

Stay hungry. Stay foolish.
— Steve Jobs

Always learn. Always adapt. And execute preemptively.

oysters

Always New Strategies

Part of the reason why I wrote Social Media Marketing for Digital Photographers is because there are many unexplored strategies that I have successfully executed for companies I’ve consulted, but haven’t seen used by boutique studios.

And social media marketing goes beyond tagging clients on Facebook or the ones I’ve written briefly about:

So, while having a burrito in San Francisco, I was inspired by a local magazine 7×7 to host a seminar on my book … sort of a CliffsNotes version. It sounds random (burrito, magazine, seminar …), but I’ll explain it to the attendees.

Tofurious CliffsNotes Seminar

Anyone in LA / OC interested in this? I’m considering October 28th or November 3rd. I won’t charge for it, but I will need some help. I need a venue / studio / mansion lol.

All in all, remember to learn, adapt and stay ahead. And hopefully, what I will have to share will get you there.

Cheers,

Lawrence Chan

P.S. I really miss Steve Jobs.

P.P.S. 7×7 represents the size of San Francisco, which is 7 miles by 7 miles.

P.P.P.S. Also inspired by my burrito, I want to conduct a photo shoot after my Tofurious CliffsNotes seminar. You’re encouraged to stay to be my models๐Ÿ™‚

P.P.P.P.S. Speaking of photo shoots, this Friday, I will be photographing the table top that was used for Kim Kardashian’s wedding. It will be used as a national ad. I doubt it will happen, but I hope she swings by … and we go out for lunch and become the best of friends. And then I’ll make appearances on Keeping Up with the Kardashians (e.g., Bora Bora).

P.P.P.P.P.S. Yes, I watch that show.