So, you have a Facebook Page, Twitter account, blog and maybe a YouTube channel. What’s next?

The allure of social media is strong. We’re now able to connect with clients and build exposure without having the expensive costs of traditional marketing. Unfortunately, there are so many social media options out there … and the number is increasing.

social media marketing for digital photographers

If you’re like me, I like to maximize my time and effort. I simply want to know what works best — creating quality content to build lasting relationships and establish a strong position in your market.

Achieve perfect exposure for your photography business with a well-considered social media marketing program. Use these online engagement tools to explore your customers’ wants and needs, likes and aversions, decision triggers, and more, and earn brand advocates by delivering images, tips and insider information that makes them swoon.


Lawrence’s comic wit coupled with marketing expertise takes you behind the scenes to understand how to reach your market …

This book is a must read for those that want to tap into the formula for converting “looky-loos” into paying clients who [then] turn into evangelists for your brand, business or cause.

Chris Holt

  • Develop a strong marketing strategy to achieve your business goals
  • Zoom in on your best customers and most promising prospects
  • Explore the pros and cons of specific social media channels
  • Understand the vital skill of listening
  • Find out how and why to promote the luxury angle of photography
  • Discover how to inspire brand evangelists through social media
  • Learn important survival tips for your social media program
Listen to your audience and learn what they love, hate and couldn’t care less about. Create content that resonates with your market and supports your niche position. Convert your fans, friends and casual readers into clients and advocates. Evangelize your brand with passionate followers who’ll spread the good news of your work.

amazon buy here

In addition to the powerful strategies illustrated in this book, I was fortunate enough to have friends in the industry — Kenny Kim, Zach and Jody Gray, Jerry Ghionis, Becker, Jasmine Star, Catherine Hall, and Grace Ormonde — whom offered valuable advices through different perspectives.

photo friends

reading in flight

Bulletproofing Efforts

We all know how fast social media changes. Remember MySpace? Social media are platforms. Although some have advantages over others, the strategies are virtually the same.

Understanding this concern — what if I build up my Facebook following and it one day collapses? — I dedicated an entire chapter to methods in securing your digital space in the event of a change of mediums.

Many of the successes I’ve had this far in the short time I’ve been in business I attribute largely to the marketing strategies and knowledge I’ve gained from reading Lawrence’s Tofurious blog and most recently the Social Media Marketing for Digital Photographers book.

After reading it you will undoubtedly think differently about how you market your business and your business will in turn be better for it.

Arleth G Photography

Read The Introduction

Download the Introduction (PDF) to see if you like the writing style. Read a few blog posts to see if you like the content.

Lawrence outlines the way photographers can create an avid following and attract potential clients using the tools such as Facebook, Linked In and Twitter. Using his signature dry sense of humor, Lawrence uses examples of well known brands and provides parallels on how a digital photographer can apply these marketing strategies to their own businesses.

I picked up many valuable tips to use in my own business as well as insights on my own motivations as a consumer. I’ll for sure be re-reading this one a few times so I don’t miss any nuggets of wisdom.

Hanssie Trainor

Where to Get It

Amazon, Barnes, Walmart and other retailers all carry the book in stock. However, I’m a fan of Kindle, so all of my books go through them. Alas, the Kindle version is still be converted, so hard copy for now.

amazon buy here

Lawrence has a very unique and keen insight on consumer habits, and does a great job of guiding the reader on how to utilize social media as an effective marketing strategy for growing your business.

If you’re like me and have wondered how to do this, then this material will probably be just what is going to help you, and educate you on how it all works. I was very impressed by his ability to allow us to see “behind the curtain” and understand the mechanism that motivates consumer habits, human behavior, and how to use it to attract quality clientele. Big thumbs up!

Tauran Woo

Sincerely,

Lawrence Chan

P.S. I’m working on a surprise for those who leave a nice comment on Amazon. I believe in positive reinforcement๐Ÿ™‚

From my perspective: If photographers were “Jedis” and marketing the “lightsaber,” Lawrence Chan [would] be Qui-Gon Jinn whom with maverick and unconventional methods will teach us the proper use of the (marketing) “force.”

Gabriel Mora

P.P.S. I spent about seven months working with a talented team to put this book together. A lot of blood, sweat, brain juice went into this. I’m really really really proud of this. Hope you all feel the same way.

P.P.P.S. Digital iBook, Kindle, Nook, etc. formats coming soon. Wiley Press is still in the process of converting it over. I’m anxious myself.

amazon buy here