There is a specific Starbucks in Pasadena that I absolutely adore. I go there all of the time. In fact, there are many closer … much closer … but I still drive the extra miles because they know my name, my favorite drink and tidbits about me. They make me feel special.

I doubt it was the baristas’ intentions to befriend me, but we just happened to kick it off nicely. With increasing competition (especially in the photography industry), it’s more and more important to humanize your brand.

And one of the pioneers in creating this type of human connection, even online, is Jasmine Star, whom I find to be the cat’s pajamas.

jasmine star the fix

Jasmine is hosting a 12-city tour called TheFIX. An FAQ can be found here.

February 27, 2012 – Phoenix, Arizona
February 29, 2012 – Dallas, Texas
March 02, 2012 – Miami, Florida
March 05, 2012 – Atlanta, Georgia
March 06, 2012 – Nashville, Tennessee
March 08, 2012 – Washington DC
March 09, 2012 – New York City, New York
March 12, 2012 – Boston, Massachusetts
March 14, 2012 – Chicago, Illinois
March 16, 2012 – Denver, Colorado
March 19, 2012 – San Francisco, California
March 20, 2012 – Los Angeles, California

You could [listen to] a podcast [or read a book], but it’s not the same as being there.
Zach Gray

I’ve exchanged emails and text messages with Jasmine, but it’s not the same as playing Rock-Paper-Scissors for a P.F. Chang’s lunch bill. Her magnetic and quirky personality is something that can only be fully experienced in person.

Hope you all get a chance to enjoy her warm aura,

Lawrence Chan

P.S. I’ve attended a number of seminars and found the Q/A part to be equally rewarding (and sometimes too short). Not only does Jasmine have a Q/A session, she even integrated an open discussion section after the break.