For businesses that have not gotten a Facebook Like Page yet, maybe this will convince you.

Unlike a Personal Page (or Twitter), where broadcasts are sent to everyone, Facebook Like Pages now allow you to fine tune your targeted updates even more!

In the past, you could only do location and language. Now, users are able to specify the items below. Note that not all Pages have this feature yet. Facebook is rolling out this update slowly.

  • Gender
  • Relationship Status
  • Educational Status (like only those engaged)
  • Interested In
  • Age
  • Location (not new)
  • Language (not new)

As an international speaker, I might not want to tell everyone that I will be speaking in Netherlands in February 2013. I doubt readers from South America would be interested. Therefore, I could craft my messages based on targeted specifics.

First, note the new target icon on the bottom left of your status box.

fb targeting

Next, select the area you want to customize.

Note: Without any customizations, I will be broadcasting to the full audience of 8,755 people who have Liked my Page.

facebook targeting

Lastly, add as many customizations as you need to craft the perfect targeted message.

Note: The more I narrow my target audience, the less people will be reached with this update. In this case, only 5,620 people will see this update.

facebook customize target audience

For more information about this, read Facebook’s update here. Don’t forget that you can schedule your Posts and promote them for a fee.

Imagine promoting to only engaged couples, seniors or women of a certain age (e.g., moms) … who live in New York!

mandarin oriental nyc

Happy Facebooking,

Lawrence Chan

P.S. I was in NYC earlier this year and I got to shoot this gorgeous table by Tantawan Bloom. It’s published in this Grace Ormonde Wedding Style Fall / Winter 2012 magazine. Check it outπŸ™‚

purple flowers table