Are you an extrovert or introvert?

Some people are naturally social. Conversely, some people are similar to me, awkwardly hermetic. However, interestingly, the two types work well together through a mixture of collaboration and solitude.

I just returned from speaking at WPPI 2013 yesterday and was distinctly pleased to see gregarious pockets of people united to learn. According to Napoleon Hill’s Think and Grow Rich, your network is your net worth.

wppi 2013 speaker

Even if we were to consider the digital greats of today, many of them built companies based on the harmonious reliance on each other.

  • Apple – Steve Jobs and Steve Wozniak
  • Microsoft – Bill Gates and Paul Allen
  • Google – Larry Page and Sergey Brin

Therefore, what makes a great team?

Master Mind

Andrew Carnegie, the richest man in the world during the early 1900s, attributed his success to the combined forces of his team.

We have here in this business a master mind. It is not my mind, and it is not the mind of any other man on my staff, but the sum total of all these minds that I have gathered around me that constitute a master mind …

I do not always agree with all the men on my staff, on all matters, nor do they always agree with me. Perhaps some of us do not like each other from a personal viewpoint, but I know that I need these men and they know that they need me in the maintenance of this master mind …
-Andrew Carnegie

Sort of similar to the making of a delicious macaron. The ingredients alone yield unique autonomous characteristics. However, when baked together, magical!

orange macaron

However, too much of a certain ingredient will ruin the synergy. All elements need to work in harmony. In a team, there should be a combination of both introverts and extroverts.

Extroverts have obvious qualities. In fact, “action” is celebrated in a world of go-getters. However, according to Susan Cain’s book Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking, she highlighted different merits that introverts possess including contemplative quietness. Therefore, do not neglect the subtle ones.

a rising tide lifts all boats

For the rest of WPPI, speak and listen, push and pull … form a team. Aside from intrinsic business benefits of working with people with different perspectives, it can be fun!

Sincerely,

Lawrence Chan

P.S. Many people emailed me after my presentation to see if there was a WPPI promotion code. I will have the following code available until midnight of Sunday, March 17, 2013.

30% Off Code: wppi2013

P.P.S. I just have to share a wonderful note I received last night from a photographer who did a pricing consultation (e-book) with me a little while back.

Lawrence!!!!

First, I saw you on Jasmine Star’s restart program … You two were an awesome team .. Of course!

Second, [in the last 2 months I kept booking] the top package … and “most popular” packages … [S]old so many more, I raised it up another $400.

Thanks again for the consult …. just keeping you posted.

Dana

P.P.P.S. Goodbye, Vegas. Love 80 degree winter / spring. THANK YOU everyone who came out to listen on Content Marketing and to support meπŸ™‚ xoxoxoxoxo!

las vegas hdr