trust rule 4

I’m going to be honest. I don’t know much about home repairs. If there is a leaky faucet or broken garbage disposal, my first reaction is to freak out, then call a handyman.

With time, I’ve come to learn that these issues only require simple solutions. So, with encouragement from Julie, I taught myself how to maintain a home with tips from Home Depot associates.

I trust Home Depot associates because they explain the reasons behind their fix-it techniques. Ultimately, I trust them because they know a lot more than I do, which brings me to Rule #4.

nola - oak alley plantation

4: Authority Figures can Sell to You

Authority figures are experts in their fields. Not being an expert, I look to them for answers.

Therefore, if you’re a photographer, teach freely about your craft. If you’re a florist, explain why some colors work better with others. If you’re a cinematographer, describe how certain songs set the cadence for the video-story. Whatever you do, share your expertise.

Those who are most willing to hire you are those who are most passionate about whatever you’re teaching. Become their authority figure. Build a relationship. If you don’t, I promise you that someone else will.

This will also help you maintain top of mind awareness (TOMA), which means that a particular product comes to mind first when thinking of a particular industry. For example, when I think of ketchup, I think of Heinz (American ketchup company). When they think of your service, they should think of you!

heinz organic ketchup

Read about the other rules:

trust-e-book

For more content strategy posts, read here.

Ketchup lover,

Lawrence Chan

P.S. Who is an authority figure that you trust? Comment below!

