trust rule 5

I love to travel. What I enjoy doing most when traveling is sampling the food scene like a local. As much as I love Chipotle, Starbucks and other franchises, I try to avoid them when away from home.

crab eggs benedict

In order to not run around town until I find a busy establishment, I employ social media for assistance. Yelp is a popular app in the United States that evaluates restaurants based on users’ ratings.

Oddly enough, I trust these ratings, even though they come from total strangers, which brings me to Rule #5.

5: Endorsements Can Sell to You

Similar to Rule #4 on authority, I trust these total strangers because, in this very situation, they know more than I do. These testimonials are a form of social proof.

Social proof, also known as informational social influence, is a psychological phenomenon whereas someone gives credence to another’s judgment as true because of the former’s lack of experience on said topic.

Social proof comes in all forms. It does not need to be only testimonials. If you had to pick between a restaurant that is empty or one that has a line out of the door, which would you pick?

line out the door

Getting testimonials from clients is the obvious next step. However, there are many not so obvious, but equally effective techniques that I expound on in my e-book on TRUST.

Read about the other rules:

trust-e-book

For more content strategy posts, read here.

Ciao,

Lawrence Chan

P.S. Comment below your favorite local restaurant along with the city!

