I’m a fan of Arianna Huffington (editor-in-chief of Huffington Post). I believe that she is an inspirational woman. When I heard that she was speaking at New York University (NYU, a 10-minute walk from my apartment) about her new book Thrive, I knew that I had to attend!

I laughed. I was inspired. I was transformed.

Notes About Arianna’s Her Story

We must stop the collective delusion that the lifestyle of an entrepreneur is to burn out.

Her wakeup call was when she fainted, cut her head, bled, and got stitches. “If waking up in your own pool of blood was what defined success, then I was successful.”

You would actually be more healthy and successful if you take care of your own human capital (health and well-being). If you don’t, you will eventually go bankrupt and suffer chronic diseases.

arianna huffington thrive

A New Metric For Success

1. Well-being and Health
Get more sleep. It’s not a badge of honor to work 80 hours a week. “I’ll sleep when I’m dead” is stupid. You will be much more creative when you sleep. Sleep is like a dishwasher that cleans out the waste. If you are well rested, you will see obstacles before you hit them.

“I don’t remember the last time when I wasn’t tired.” This cannot be our default way to live.

2. Wisdom
There are super smart political, business, and media leaders who make stupid mistakes. They may be smart, but not wise.

Steve Jobs got his best ideas after Zen meditation; when his mind was quiet. Bill Gates goes to Think Weeks to get away from technology.

“Don’t waste the moment.” We seem as though we are always running out of time. We must do constant audit of our projects. “You can finish a project by dropping it.”

3. Wonder
Bring joy back to our daily lives. Joy is something we postpone until we finish all of our projects or when we retire. Be joyful everyday.

“The ultimate freedom is to choose our own attitudes to what happens because we ultimately do not have control of what actually happens.” Reframe your mentality.

4. Giving
There is a pleasure based on giving. It can start with small things. Build connections instead of being buried in our smartphones.

“We are better at taking care of our smartphones than ourselves. We get nervous with low battery. Immediately, we look for recharging shrines.”

We should give CEOs “The Giving Tree” instead of “The Art of War.”

Ultimately, I could not agree more. Americans, especially, are so off balance. We prioritize money over everything else that matters. “No one wants their tombstone to read, ‘made SVP (Senior Vice President) by 45.'” These accomplishments mean little to no value in the end.

You only have one life to live. You spend most of that time working, so try to make sure that it’s aligned with what you enjoy doing most.

Cheers to a wonderful life,

Lawrence Chan

P.S. Got my book signed!

arianna huffington book signing

